The North Carolina Office of Administrative Hearings and the Fair Housing Act prohibit landlords from discriminating against potential tenants because of their race, religion, familial status, sex, gender, etc.
Can I sell my rental property with tenants in it in Texas?
First and foremost, you must give your tenants at least 60 days' notice before showing the property or allowing any access for inspections. In addition, the sale cannot interfere with their right to quiet enjoyment of the property.
Can a landlord show a house while occupied in Texas?
Right of Entry in the State of Texas
Texas has no statute that governs when landlords can enter occupied rental units. So theoretically, that means you could enter residences any time you wish. But if you're concerned about maintaining good relationships with your tenants, that's not a good idea.
Can a landlord show an apartment while occupied New York?
Can a landlord show a house while occupied in North Carolina?
So what does the law say about showing your property when it is occupied by tenants? In North Carolina, there is no legal notice requirement, but as property managers for Fayetteville, North Carolina landlords, our advice is to give the tenant 24-48 hours notice in the majority of circumstances.
What is the hardest month to rent an apartment?
Worst for Prices: May through September
It all goes back to the law of supply and demand—because more people are looking to rent an apartment and move during the summer, the prices are higher. You are much less likely to find a deal on rent between May and September.
i didn’t buy a house. heck, i couldn’t even afford renting a house. yet i managed to rent a room & that’s okay! we all start somewhere don’t we?— samantha 👑 (@societyofsnobs) August 1, 2023
can’t wait to shift in & start building from that little corner you see there 🙏🏻 pic.twitter.com/zE7xrO96KI
Can a landlord show a house that you are renting in Texas?
Texas courts have held that a landlord may not enter your home unless you allow the entry or the lease gives the landlord specific reasons to enter. Study your lease to determine when the landlord may enter your home.
Frequently Asked Questions
What is the hardest month to rent a house?
The worst months to rent a house are June, July and September, as these are typically the most expensive months.
How do you handle multiple tenant applications?
Why do landlords ask for so much information?
Yes, rental applications can ask for bank statements, account numbers or other information that verifies your income. Landlords use this information to establish your ability to manage your finances and pay your rent on time.
What happens if your house doesn t appraise for what you are asking?
If your appraised value is lower than the agreed upon sales price, you'll have to make up the difference in cash, or cancel the deal.
Why would an appraiser come twice?
You may need a second appraisal if you're getting a second mortgage right after closing on your purchase loan. Often second lien lenders won't use the original appraisal, especially if you're doing a home improvement second where the new appraisal must factor in potential improvements.
What happens if an appraisal comes in lower than offer?
Lenders always use the appraised value to calculate your LTV — not the purchase price. If the appraisal comes in lower than the purchase price, your lender will likely decrease the amount you can borrow. So you'll either have to pay more out of pocket or get the seller to lower their asking price.
What if appraisal is higher than offer?
If the appraisal is below or above the asking price, the transaction can get delayed or fall apart entirely. If a home is appraised to be higher than the asking price, the lender will only issue a mortgage for the appraisal amount.
Can a landlord walk around your house without permission?
How much notice does a landlord have to give when selling the property in California?
California: At least 60 days' advance notice is required if you've been renting for over a year. Otherwise, you get 30 days' notice. Texas: In eviction cases, as little as three days' notice is required. In other cases, or if the property falls under the federal CARES Act, you get at least 30 days' notice.
- What is the Civil Code 1954?
Civ. Code §1954 states that 24-hours' notice prior to entry “shall be presumed to be reasonable notice in absence of evidence to the contrary.” This means that notice is required at least 24-hours prior to the desired entry by the landlord unless your lease provides otherwise.
- Can a Landlord come into your yard without permission in Ohio?
Ohio Revised Code §5321.04(A)(8) states that a landlord must: Except in the case of emergency or if it is impracti- cable to do so, give the tenant reasonable notice of the landlord's intent to enter and enter only at reasonable times.
- Can my landlord show up unannounced Florida?
Florida Statute 83.53(2) defines reasonable notice as 12 hours prior to entering. This must occur between 7:30 a.m. to 8:00 p.m. However, a Tenant cannot unreasonably deny the Landlord from entering. If they do, they are in violation. As a result, they may face Eviction.
- When should I follow up about a rental?
If you haven't received a call about your application after 3-days, I would call the Landlord or property manager. Typically it only takes a day to run an application. Do landlords tell you if they denied your application? Some will (I do) call the prospective tenant and tell them they were denies and why.
- Can my landlord legally enter without notice in NC?
- North Carolina landlord tenant laws do not require landlords to give tenants notice before entering the property. However, standard practice is to provide at least 24 hours of notice.
- What are my rights as a renter in NC?
North Carolina law says that your landlord must keep your housing fit and safe. It also says that you, the tenant, must pay your rent, keep your home clean, and not damage your home. To make the law work, both the tenant and the landlord must do their part.
- Are refinance appraisals different than purchase appraisals?
In short, refinance and purchase appraisers have the same process for determining a home's value. The only difference is that a purchase appraiser has access to the purchase contract and, therefore, the sales price.
- Is refinance based on appraisal value?
- The home appraisal process is almost always required for refinancing and establishes your home's value, which helps determine how much you can borrow. The lender isn't particularly interested in your home's repair needs unless they affect the market value.
- Do you want your house to appraise for more or less when refinancing?
→ If the appraisal comes in lower than the purchase price, you're on shakier ground. Your lender could charge you higher interest rates, or it may not even approve your refinance. Lenders won't approve a refinance loan that's for more than the home is worth.
Can you post your house for rent when there are still renters in it
|What hurts a home appraisal for refinance?
|Make sure your decor and home improvements aren't too personalized. You'll want a potential buyer to be able to picture themselves in the home and the appraiser will know when they're unable to do that. Clean up messes and clutter.
|What happens if appraisal is lower than refinance?
Even if you have a great credit score, if a lender thinks you don't have a lot of equity in the property, they may deny the refinance. A home with a low appraisal represents a higher risk for the lender because you could end up underwater on the new mortgage.
|Can a tenant refuse entry to landlord in California?
|A landlord may have the right to enter his property, even against his tenant's wishes, as long as he has given proper written notice and the entry occurs during “normal business hours.” California requires a landlord provide “reasonable” advance notice of intent to enter and considers 24 hours “reasonable” absent
|Can my landlord show my apartment before I move out Chicago?
According to the CRLTO, landlords may not begin showing an apartment until 60 days or less before the end of the lease. (Not all Chicago apartments are subject to the Chicago landlord-tenant ordinance, with the most common exception being owner-occupied buildings of six units or fewer.
|Can a landlord enter your backyard without permission in California?
Thus, the landlord may not enter the yard, when defined as part of the rental unit, without permission. Second, unauthorized landlord entry onto a California tenant's yard almost always constitutes an abuse of the right of access or California tenant harassment in violation of California Civil Code section 1954(c).
|Can a tenant refuse a showing Chicago?
The Chicago Residential Landlord Tenant Ordinance sets out the procedure for access: A landlord may access the unit with consent of the tenant. However, the tenant may refuse consent if the access is not for a proper purpose, at a proper time and with proper notice.
|Can I sue my landlord for entering without notice California?
Sue the landlord and whoever for up to $10,000 in small claims court for trespassing, breach of contract, invasion of privacy, and breach of quiet enjoyment; if you are two or more tenants, each can separately sue them for up to $10,000, and a joint action is not required.
|Walk around a property for sale when there is no open house and tenants are occupying the space
Mar 9, 2019 — Depends on where you live. Laws vary. Where I am there is no actual limit, but a full 24 hours notice is required. Many landlords will ask the tenants to leave
|Why would an appraiser come?
Appraisals are almost always used in home transactions and are common in refinance transactions. If it is a purchase-and-sale transaction, the appraisal is used to determine whether the home's contract price is appropriate given the home's condition, location, and features.
- Why is an appraiser taking pictures of my house?
The photos can of course help the appraiser when choosing comps and making adjustments, but they can also help the appraiser remember what the house was like. For instance, there have been times when I labeled the bathroom floor as vinyl during my inspection, but the photos clearly showed the floor was tile.
- Should you walk around with the appraiser?
- You can walk around with the appraiser, but don't hover. It's probably best to give a little space so the appraiser is not distracted. Remember too if you walk into a room first, this means the appraiser will have to wait for you to get out of the way to take a photo.
- What not to tell a home appraiser?
As a realtor or a homeowner, you should avoid saying things like: – Is it going to come in at this “value”? – I'll be happy as long as it appraises for at least the sales price. – Do your best to get the value as high as possible.
- Do appraisals usually come in at asking price?
- Most appraisals come in at the right price. According to CoreLogic, in general, appraisals come in below contract only about 7-9% of the time. That average was skewed when the appraisal gap reached its peak at 20% in April 2022 but has been leveling out ever since.
- How does an appraisal affect the sale of a house?
As a seller, a low appraisal means you may have to lower your home's price to get it sold. Holding out for an all-cash buyer who doesn't require an appraisal as a condition of completing the transaction is unlikely to work. Even cash-rich buyers don't want to overpay for a home.
- Do sellers have to lower price after appraisal?
- The sellers can refuse to lower their price and take their chances of receiving another offer, but it's risky. Other buyers could encounter the same problem with their financing. Once the home has appraised lower than their listing price or your offer, it's likely to appraise low again.
- Does appraisal affect selling price?
- If your appraised value is lower than the agreed upon sales price, you'll have to make up the difference in cash, or cancel the deal.
- How does an appraisal affect the buyer?
- If the property is appraised at a lower value, your lender will decrease your loan amount. If you want to proceed with the purchase, you'll need to increase your down payment to cover the difference between your new loan amount and the agreed upon price. Renegotiate the price with the seller.
- What happens if seller won't negotiate after appraisal?
If the purchase agreement contains an appraisal contingency, the buyer is protected in the case of a low appraisal. If the buyer can't get the seller to adjust the price or come up with the difference in cash, they can walk away from the sale with their earnest money deposit returned to them.