how much do real estate agentsmake

Discover the key differences between real estate pre-license and post-license schools in the US and how they shape aspiring real estate professionals' journeys.

When embarking on a career in real estate, it is crucial to understand the educational requirements and the distinction between pre-license and post-license schools. These institutions play a vital role in equipping aspiring real estate professionals with the necessary knowledge and skills to succeed in the industry. In this article, we will explore the differences between real estate pre-license and post-license schools in the US and shed light on their respective purposes.

Table of Contents

What is the Difference Between Real Estate Pre-license and Post-license Schools?

Real Estate Pre-license School:

  1. Preparing for the Real Estate Exam:

    • Pre-license schools focus on providing students with comprehensive knowledge and preparing them for the state-specific real estate licensing exam.
    • The curriculum covers fundamental topics, including real estate law, ethics, property valuation, contracts, and agency relationships.
    • Students are equipped with the necessary understanding of legal regulations and ethical practices to ensure competence in the field.
  2. Obtaining the Real Estate License:

    • The ultimate goal of a pre-license school

As a sales associate, you must complete 45 hours of additional approved sales associate post-licensure courses within your first renewal period. You'll also need to pass the required exam. Further, brokers must meet a post-licensure course requirement by completing 60 hours of approved courses and passing an exam.

What is the 25 hour post license course in Georgia?

25-Hour Georgia Real Estate Post-License

Students will learn about the millionaire agent mindset and more. Satisfy your 25-Hours of Georgia Real Estate Post-Licensing while advancing your understanding of the real estate profession and market.

What is the 45 hour post licensing Florida?

The 45 Hour Post License course for Real Estate Sales Associates also contains practical training and information about business planning, time management, prospecting, and contract preparation. The 45 Hour Post License course is all you need to fulfill the state requirements to renew your Florida Real Estate License.

How many questions are on the Georgia Post license real estate exam?

After you complete all the course materials and pass the practice exam, there is a 152-question final exam. The passing score is 75%. You must take this in the presence of a proctor.

Do I need to get the pre license or post license for Florida real estate?

As a condition of licensure applicants must successfully complete a 63-Hour Pre Licensure Course based on the FREC I syllabus and pass the required end of course exam.

What is the NC real estate manual?

Home Page - NCREC Manual. A condensed, chronological history of the title to a particular piece of real estate consisting of a summary of the various documents that have been recorded in the office of the Register of Deeds and certain other public offices constituting the various links in the chain of title.

What does the NC real estate Commission do?

The Commission's primary function is to license and regulate real estate agents (persons and firms who sell, lease, etc. real estate for others).

Frequently Asked Questions

What is NC residential property disclosure?

The Residential Property Disclosure Act, codified as North Carolina G.S. 47E, requires the seller of residential real estate (one to four dwelling units) to complete a form—known formally as the Residential Property and Owners' Association Disclosure Statement—disclosing conditions and defects with the property.

Is a real estate condition report required in Wisconsin?

Most sellers in Wisconsin are required to submit a real estate condition report to any potential buyer.

How many days does the seller have to deliver all disclosures to the buyer?

Within seven days

The California Association of Realtors Residential Purchase Agreement requires the seller to provide all disclosures within seven days from when the purchase agreement has been accepted.

What are the requirements to be a real estate appraiser in Pennsylvania?

Steps to becoming a certified Pennsylvania general appraiser:
  • Complete 3,000 hours of valid appraisal experience over an 18 month period.
  • Complete 300 hours of approved appraisal education (hours from previous license can carry over)
  • Submit your application.
  • Pass the Certified General Appraiser exam.

What is a professional designation acquired by appraisers who take the required courses through the appraisal institute?

MAI designation

The MAI designation is for a certified appraiser and member of the Appraisal Institute who has met strict testing, standards and experience requirements.

How many hours must a certified residential appraiser be supervised before becoming a certified general appraiser quizlet?

3,000 hours. The person desiring the Certified General Appraiser classification must have 30 months of experience and 3,000 hours of experience under a Certified Appraiser, of which 1,500 or more hours must be in nonresidential appraising. an associate's degree and 200 classroom hours.

How do I become an appraiser with no experience in PA?

Degree Requirement:
  1. 79 Classroom Hours - An applicant shall submit evidence to the Board of having completed 75 classroom hours in appraisal curriculum, and the 4 hour Trainee/Supervisor Appraiser course:
  2. No examination requirement for licensure.
  3. No experience requirement for licensure.

What disclosures are required when selling a house in California?

California Real Estate Disclosure Requirements
  • California Transfer Disclosure Statement.
  • California Natural Hazard Disclosure Statement.
  • California Notice of Supplemental Property Tax Bill Disclosure.
  • California Appraisal Discrimination Addendum Disclosure.

What do you put on a for sale sign for a house?

4 Things to Consider for Real Estate For Sale Signs
  • Content. There are three main items that your for sale sign should contain: the logo of your brokerage, your name, and a way to contact you, whether that's a phone number or email address.
  • Placement.
  • Style.
  • Type.

What is a material fact that must be disclosed?

Material Fact: Any fact that could affect a reasonable person's decision to buy, sell, or lease is considered a material fact and must be disclosed by a broker to the parties in the transaction and any interested third parties regardless of the broker's agency role within the transaction. N.C.G.S.

What are the steps to selling a house in California?

Selling a House in California: Everything You Need to Know
  1. Find a top-rated California real estate agent.
  2. Decide when to sell.
  3. Price your home.
  4. Prepare, market, and show your home.
  5. Field offers and negotiate.
  6. Get an inspection and appraisal.
  7. Submit paperwork and required California disclosures.
  8. Close your California home sale.

What is exempt seller disclosure California?

Certain Sellers are exempt from completing the TDS but not exempt from making other disclosures. Sellers who are not legally required to complete a TDS can use this form to make other required disclosures, including the disclosure of material facts of which they are aware.

Who has oversight over state appraisal boards?


Hear this out loudPauseThe ASC also maintains oversight authority over the states to ensure the minimum qualifying criteria to license and certify real estate appraisers are implemented and that appraisers are held to a professional set of ethical standards.

Who may file a complaint against a California licensed or certified appraiser?

Hear this out loudPauseQuestion: Who can file a complaint? Answer: Any person may file a complaint alleging that any applicant for a license, holder of a license, or any Controlling Persons and Designated Officers of an AMC or a Registered AMC, has committed acts or omissions constituting unethical or unprofessional conduct.

Do appraisers have to be licensed in California?

Hear this out loudPauseIn California, appraisers are required to renew their licenses every two years. During renewal, appraisers can complete continuing education requirements to maintain their license and develop any necessary new skills.

What are real property appraisal reports governed by?

Hear this out loudPauseAppraisal standards board (Asb) – The ASB sets forth the rules for ethics and competency in developing an appraisal and reporting its results within the Uniform Standards of Professional Appraisal Practice (USPAP).

How do you fight an unfair appraisal?

So what do you do if that all-important appraisal comes in lower than expected?
  1. Don't Panic. Take a deep breath — there many ways to tackle this scenario!
  2. Obtain a Copy.
  3. Review the Comps.
  4. Check into the School District.
  5. Scrutinize the Appraiser.
  6. Ask the Appraiser to Reconsider.
  7. Demand a Second Appraiser.

What needs to be disclosed when selling a house in California?

California Real Estate Disclosure Requirements

This form asks specific questions about defects or malfunctions the seller may be aware of. It asks about the condition of the roof, the electrical wiring, appliances, smoke detectors and other relevant features of the property.

What is a CA agreement in real estate?

Include proximity to a natural hazard. Information about sex offenders in the area real estate taxes. Water heater and smoke detector compliance wood destroying pest inspection.

What is an exclusive right to sell listing agreement in California?

A listing may be any of the following: (1) An "exclusive right to sell listing" is a listing whereby the owner grants to an agent, for a specified period of time, the exclusive right to sell or to find or obtain a buyer for the property, and the agent is entitled to the agreed compensation if during that period of time

Does a listing agreement have to be in writing in California?

California law provides that an agreement authorizing an agent, broker, or any other person to purchase or sell real estate is “invalid, unless [the agreement], or some note or memorandum thereof, are in writing and subscribed by the party to be charged or the party's agent.” (Civ. Code § 1624(a)(4).)

What are most seller property disclosures required for?

Common issues that require disclosures include anything that may cause major foundation issues to a property or endanger a prospective buyer or the integrity of the house.

What are the requirements to be a real estate agent in Arizona?

Complete 90 hours of Real Estate Salesperson pre-licensing education at an approved Arizona real estate school and pass the examination at an ADRE approved real estate school, college or university. If applying as an Out-of-State Licensee, review the Out-of-State License Recognition information here.

Can I use the word realtor in my team name?

Each REALTOR® is authorized to use the REALTOR® marks with their name and Members may do so when identifying their relationship to a team. A Member may not use the REALTOR® marks with the name of his or her team.

Should I use my real name in real estate?

An agent who uses a name in his or her real estate business which is different from his or her legal name may be in violation of the real estate license law.

What is the difference between a broker and an agent?

The major difference between brokers and agents is work independence. A broker has the qualifications to own or manage a brokerage. They have the license to manage real estate and employ real estate agents to sell houses. In contrast, real estate agents can't operate independently.

What disqualifies you from being a real estate agent in Arizona?

Criminal convictions, civil judgments, or disciplinary action involving any other professional licenses in Arizona or any other state may result in license denial. The following state laws, also known as Arizona Revised Statutes (A.R.S.), relate to original and renewal license applications with disclosure(s).

Can a tenant refuse to allow viewings California?

California Civil Code §1954 places limitations on a landlord's right to enter your apartment. One of the reasons a landlord can enter is to show your home to a prospective buyer. While tenants are generally required to allow viewings, they also have rights to privacy and peaceful enjoyment of their rental unit.

How much notice does a landlord have to give when selling the property in California?

60 days

California: At least 60 days' advance notice is required if you've been renting for over a year. Otherwise, you get 30 days' notice. Texas: In eviction cases, as little as three days' notice is required. In other cases, or if the property falls under the federal CARES Act, you get at least 30 days' notice.

Can a landlord show a house that you are renting California?

The landlord (per California Civil Code section 1954) has the right to enter your unit during normal business hours with a minimum of 24 hours notice to you for the purpose of showing the unit to prospective renters.

What a landlord Cannot do in California?

Firstly, a landlord cannot discriminate against tenants based on factors like race, religion, or disability. Secondly, they cannot retaliate against tenants for exercising their legal rights. Moreover, landlords cannot enter rental units without proper notice, withhold necessary repairs, or increase rent excessively.

Can a landlord show up without notice California?

California law states that a landlord can only enter your home for specified reasons. According to the California Tenants Guide, a landlord or their agent should give you an advanced written notice that states the date, time and purpose of the entry before entering the unit.

When buying a home what is one of the items you need to decide?

Neighborhood. The location of the home is important. After all, it's the only thing you won't be able to change, renovate or repair. It has to be an area that offers the kind of home you want within your budget.

What should be included in a purchase agreement?

At its most basic, a purchase agreement should include the following:
  • Name and contact information for buyer and seller.
  • The address of the property being sold.
  • The price to be paid for the property.
  • The date of transfer.
  • Disclosures.
  • Contingencies.
  • Signatures.

Can you sell a home in California without a heater?

Yes, a house can be sold AS-IS, and it can be sold without heat, as long as your municipality does not require a Certificate of Occupancy or some other municipal inspection prior to closing. I'm surprised there was no VA inspection- those are always done.


What is the number one rule of adjusting comparables?

As a rule, the fewer the total number of adjustments, the smaller the adjustment amounts, and the less the total adjustment amount, the more reliable the comparable.

What is the rule of three comparables?

The Rule Of Three

The first step for an agent preparing a CMA is to find three homes that have sold recently (within the past 6 months at most, but preferably 3 months). These three homes should be as similar and located as closely together as possible.

What are the rules on making adjustments in the sales comparison approach to value?

The known prices are adjusted by adding or subtracting the amount which a given feature appears to add to, or subtract from, the price of the comparison property. Remember, you make adjustments to the comparable, not to the subject! Adjustments may also need to be made for time and terms of sale.

How many comparables should be used?

Three closed

A minimum of three closed comparables must be reported in the sales comparison approach. Additional comparable sales may be reported to support the opinion of market value provided by the appraiser. The subject property can be used as a fourth comparable sale or as supporting data if it was previously closed.

What is the minimum number of comparables an agent should use when conducting a CMA?

Find three to five comparable homes in the area that have sold recently, as close to the home as possible. Ideally, the comps will be within one mile of the property and in the same school district. Focus on similar houses in terms of square footage, lot size, bedrooms, bathrooms, and type of construction.

Can a BPO be used to remove PMI?

BPOs can cost a fraction of the price of an appraisal. A BPO can be a substitute for an appraisal in certain cases. A BPO can sometimes be used by lenders for a foreclosure or short sale, or for a borrower's request to cancel private mortgage insurance (PMI).

Should I use a BPO or appraisal to remove PMI?
To remove your PMI You'll need to get a home valuation report, such as a BPO, to prove your home value has risen enough to remove PMI. Combined with your loan balance, the BPO valuation proves your 20% equity position.

What is the process for creating a broker's price opinion BPO?

To complete a BPO, a broker or real estate professional uses real estate comps similar to a comparative market analysis, plus a few other factors, such as the age of the home and the size of the property. BPOs look different from home appraisals because they offer less comprehensive home valuation results.

How do I get a reappraisal to remove PMI?

You re-appraise your home after it gains value. Generally, you can request to cancel PMI when you reach at least 20% equity in your home. You might reach the 20% equity threshold by making your payments on time per your amortization schedule for loan repayment.

How do I get rid of PMI after 2 years?

A borrower can request PMI be canceled when they've amassed 20% equity in the home and lived in it for several years. There are other ways to get rid of PMI ahead of schedule: refinancing, getting the home re-appraised (to see if it's increased in value), and paying down your principal faster.

Can tenant refuse viewings in California?

California Civil Code §1954 places limitations on a landlord's right to enter your apartment. One of the reasons a landlord can enter is to show your home to a prospective buyer. While tenants are generally required to allow viewings, they also have rights to privacy and peaceful enjoyment of their rental unit.

What are renters rights when the owner is selling in California?

While a building remains on the market for sale, California tenants must continue paying their rent to their landlord, or property manager. Until a sale closes or the California tenant receives written notices specifying otherwise, the California tenant should continue paying rent as they usually did.

Can my landlord show my house before I move out California?

Ok, then they can't do that. CA Civil Code 1954 requires the landlord to provide a written notice 24 hours in advance prior to any showing and can only do so during normal business hours 8am to 6pm, M-F unless the tenant agrees otherwise.

Can my landlord sell the house I'm renting in California?

If the landlord intends to sell the property, they must give the tenant at least 60 days' written notice if the tenant has been renting for less than a year, or at least 90 days' written notice if the tenant has been renting for a year or more.

Who is allowed to perform appraisals on any type of real estate?

On a federal level, an appraiser must be a Certified Residential Real Property Appraiser or Certified General Real Property Appraiser. States often require additional licensing before this person can determine the value of residential or commercial properties.

Who is a licensed individual that performs valuation services as part of appraisal practice?

"Appraiser" means a person who is licensed or certified as an appraiser pursuant to this chapter and who performs valuation services competently and in a manner that is independent, impartial and objective.

What are the duties of the BREA?

BREA was established within the Business, Transportation and Housing Agency, and charged with developing and implementing a real estate appraiser licensing and certification program compliant with the federal mandate.

Who are the people that can conduct the appraisal?

Generally the employee's supervisor leads the appraisal process. Other people — the human resources manager, coworkers, customers — may also be involved. A growing number of companies invite workers to review their supervisors to increase input and validity of appraisal results.

How do I get an appraisal license in NH?

Certified General Appraiser: At least 300 hours of appraisal education and training, including 15 hours of ethics and standards of practice; 3,000 hours (including 1,500 hours non-residential) of appraisal experience across at least 30 months; and passing the Certified General examination.

How much do home appraisers make in NH?

Real Estate Appraiser Salary in New Hampshire

Annual SalaryHourly Wage
Top Earners$109,142$52
75th Percentile$88,500$43
25th Percentile$68,400$33
How much does an appraisal cost in NH?

The average New Hampshire home appraisal cost is between $325 – $425 for traditional, full-scale appraisals.

How do I get a NH real estate license?
New Hampshire Real Estate License Requirements
  1. The steps to obtain a NH Real Estate License:
  2. Step #1: Complete the 40-hour New Hampshire Real Estate Salesperson Course.
  3. Step #2: Submit a Criminal Records Request.
  4. Step #3: Schedule Your State Exam.
  5. Step #4: Take and Pass the State Licensing Exam.
How do I start an appraisal?
Six tips on how to conduct an effective performance appraisal
  1. Be prepared.
  2. Create a joint agenda.
  3. Discuss challenges and successes.
  4. Discuss ideas for development and action.
  5. Agree actions that need to be taken.
  6. Summarise the meeting and express support.
Is the appraisal the act?
the act of estimating or judging the nature or value of something or someone. an estimate of value, as for sale, assessment, or taxation; valuation.

Who regulates the certification of real estate appraisers in the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania?
The State Board of Certified Real Estate Appraisers regulates the certification of real estate appraisers and assessors in the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania.

How were appraisers first regulated?

As a result of that crisis, Congress passed the Financial Institutions Reform, Recovery, and Enforcement Act of 1989 (FIRREA), creating for the first time a federal oversight system regulating valuations conducted for federally related mortgage lending transactions within Title XI of the Act.

Is appraisal mandatory?

An appraisal is a formal opportunity to analyse your performance at work, which also offers you a chance to talk to your employer about your career plans. Appraisals are not required by law, but they can be useful for both you and your employer to review progress and discuss wider work issues.

What do you need to become a real estate appraiser in California?
To become a real estate appraiser, there are 9 steps you must meet:
  1. 18+ Years Old.
  2. Complete 150 Hours of Coursework.
  3. Apply For Initial Appraisal License.
  4. Pass a Background Check.
  5. Pass State Exam.
  6. Work 2,000 Hours as a Real Estate Appraiser Trainee.
  7. Get Approved.
  8. Apply for a Residential Real Estate Appraiser License.
How long does it take to become a property appraiser in California?

150 hours

150 hours, covering specific modules including the 15-hour National USPAP Course (or its equivalent as determined by the Appraiser Qualifications Board (AQB). All initial Trainee applicants must also complete the following approved courses prior to obtaining a license: Supervisory/Trainee Appraisers course.

How much do home appraisers make in CA?

As of Oct 26, 2023, the average annual pay for a Real Estate Appraiser in California is $86,422 a year. Just in case you need a simple salary calculator, that works out to be approximately $41.55 an hour. This is the equivalent of $1,661/week or $7,201/month.

Which type of appraisal credential qualifies an appraiser to appraise all types of real property?

Certified General Appraiser Certified General Appraisers

Certified General Appraiser

Certified General Appraisers may appraise all types of real property. 300 hours of qualifying education. Contact your state for a list of approved courses. A Bachelor's degree from an accredited college or university in any field of study is also required.

Do you get paid as a real estate appraiser trainee in California?

Trainee Appraiser Salary in California. $75,700 is the 25th percentile. Salaries below this are outliers. $98,000 is the 75th percentile.

What is a non-exclusive listing agreement?

An exclusive listing is a type of real estate listing agreement in which a property seller appoints and specifically authorizes one real estate broker to act as the seller's sole agent. By contrast, in an open, or non-exclusive listing, the seller has the right to employ any number of brokers as agents.

What is the difference between dual agency and designated dual agency?

A Designated Agent? A dual agent is an individual who acts as both the buyer's and seller's agent in a transaction. It is easy to confuse dual agents with designated agents. But unlike a dual agent, designated agents are two separate individuals representing the buyer or the seller.

What are the three most common types of listings?

The three types of real estate listing agreements are open listing, exclusive agency listing, and exclusive right-to-sell listing. The listing agreement is an employment contract rather than a real estate contract: The broker is hired to represent the seller, but no property is transferred between the two.

What is the difference between real estate pre licence and post license school

How do you explain a buyer representation agreement?

A buyer agency agreement, also sometimes called a buyer representation agreement or a buyer-broker agreement, is a contract between a home buyer and a real estate agent that outlines the terms and conditions of their working partnership.

What does non-exclusive mean in real estate?

The listing agreement may be exclusive or non-exclusive. When it is exclusive, the real estate agent has the right to a commission irrespective of who sells the home. When it is non-exclusive, the real estate agent will only get a commission if he or she sells the home.

What do you say on a for sale sign?

Content. There are three main items that your for sale sign should contain: the logo of your brokerage, your name, and a way to contact you, whether that's a phone number or email address. Ideally, potential buyers would call on the phone, so you can make a personal connection right away.

What makes a good real estate sign?

You want to make sure your for-sale sign is easy to read from a distance so prospects can easily see and understand the purpose of your sign. Make sure the words “For Sale” are the largest text on your real estate sign design so it effectively grabs the attention of buyers.

What is true about the for sale sign to be placed in the yard?

Do you need a 'for sale' sign up when selling? There is no requirement that states a homeowner has to put a for sale sign in their yard, but it is customary to do so. If someone is trying to sell their home quietly, they may not want to draw attention to the fact that they plan to sell their home and move.

Where is the best place to put a for sale sign?

In general, you should place a for sale sign close to the sidewalk or curb, near the middle of the yard. You want it to be clearly visible to anyone driving past the property. Place your for sale sign well ahead of any traffic sign or fire hydrant on the property so that it stands out from distractions.

What are the most important elements of a sale sign?

Though For Sale signs are about properties, the elements of your brand such as logo, colour, typography, and tagline as well as your photo and contact information are also available to the viewers.

Can assessor come on my property without permission in Texas?

Hear this out loudPauseA tax assessor does not have the legal authority to enter private property either privately owned or legally occupied unless he has consent from you. It is unlawful for a tax assessor to remain on private property after the owner or legal occupant asks him to leave.

At what age do seniors stop paying property taxes in Texas?

65 years of age or older

Hear this out loudPauseProperty Tax and Appraisals

The Texas Tax Code, Section 33.06, allows taxpayers 65 years of age or older to defer their property taxes until their estates are settled after death.

What documents do I need for homestead exemption in Florida? When qualifying for the Homestead Exemption, you will need the following documents for all property owners applying:
  • Florida Driver's License or Florida ID if you do not drive.
  • Florida car registration.
  • Florida Voter's ID (if you vote)
  • Immigration documents if not a U.S. citizen.
Who appoints appraisal board members in Texas?

Taxing units

Hear this out loudPause(c) The appraisal district is governed by a board of nine directors. Five directors are appointed by the taxing units that participate in the district in the manner prescribed by Section 6.03.

Can my neighbor record me on my property in Texas?

Hear this out loudPauseYour Neighbor's Right to Install Security Cameras

As long as their security cameras are not recording private information, there is nothing stopping them from recording your property in their camera's field of view.
Which individual is exempt from real estate license Florida?

Lawyers: Any active member in good standing with the Florida Bar, who is otherwise qualified under the real estate license law, is exempt from the Florida Real Estate Commission 's prescribed prerequisite educational course for licensure as a real estate sales associate.

Who is exempt from real estate continuing education in Florida? Any active member in good standing with The Florida Bar and who is otherwise qualified under the real estate license law is exempt from the continuing education requirements for real estate licensees. Attorneys must complete the 45-hour post-licensing course within the first renewal period.

Which of the following people may be exempt from taking the pre-licensing courses I or II to obtain their Florida real estate license? Applicants who hold a four-year Real Estate Degree are exempt from the 63-hour sales associate and 72-hour broker pre-licensing courses (Course I and Course II), but must pass the state licensing exam.

What are the requirements to be a real estate agent in Florida? General Real Estate License Florida Requirements
  • Be at least 18 years of age.
  • High school diploma or equivalent.
  • United States Social Security number.
  • Complete 63 hours of approved pre-licensing instruction within the last two years.
  • Pass the Florida sales associate exam.
  • Pay the $89 fee and get fingerprinted.
Which individual is exempt from the licensing requirements of Florida Statute 475?

For example, an individual who is selling their own personal residence is exempt from the licensing requirements of Florida Statute 475. This is because they are not acting in a professional capacity and are not engaged in real estate activities as part of their business or employment.

What is the most commonly used disclosure in real estate? Most Common Disclosures in Real Estate
  1. Natural Hazards Disclosure. First on the list is the natural hazards disclosure.
  2. Market Conditions Advisory (MCA) Market Conditions Advisory, also known as MCA, covers items more financial in nature.
  3. State Transfer Disclosure.
  4. Local Transfer Disclosure.
  5. Megan's Law Disclosures.
What general rule should be applied when thinking about what to disclose?

What must be disclosed? Under California law, all material facts that affect the value or desirability of the property must be disclosed to the buyer. There is no specific definition or rule on what is considered to be a material fact.

What should a buyer's broker disclose to the seller?

Real estate professionals that represent buyers must find out from their clients any known hazards or defects on the property and other factors that could affect the sale. They should then disclose these defects to the seller's representative.

What are the four main categories for disclosure?

Observations, thoughts, feelings, and needs

Four main categories for disclosure include observations, thoughts, feelings, and needs (Hargie, 2011).

How long does it take to become an appraiser in California?

Experience: 3,000 hours of acceptable appraisal experience in no less than 18 months. A minimum of 1,500 hours of the required experience must be in non-residential appraisal work. Please read this important information from the California Bureau of Real Estate Appraisers to make sure your experience hours count.

What does it take to be a real estate appraiser in California?

One hundred fifty (150) creditable class hours as specified in the Required Core Curriculum and the AQB-approved Licensed Residential Real Property Appraiser examination must be successfully completed. Two thousand (2,000) hours of qualifying experience in no fewer than twelve (12) months.

Who regulates real estate appraisers in California?

The California Bureau of Real Estate Appraisers (BREA) is a division of the California Department of Consumer Affairs responsible for real estate appraiser licensing and certification in California.

How do I get a California appraisal license? How to Become a Real Estate Appraiser
  1. 18+ Years Old.
  2. Complete 150 Hours of Coursework.
  3. Apply For Initial Appraisal License.
  4. Pass a Background Check.
  5. Pass State Exam.
  6. Work 2,000 Hours as a Real Estate Appraiser Trainee.
  7. Get Approved.
  8. Apply for a Residential Real Estate Appraiser License.
Who or what agency administers the real estate law in California?


Regulation of Real Estate Licenses

In 1917 California became the first state to create laws that regulated real estate licensing. The DRE was formed to act as the entity that administers the regulations and oversees the licensing process. The department is in charge of: Granting real estate salesperson licenses.

What is the real estate regulatory body in California? The California Department of Real Estate exists to serve the real property market and protects the transactions occurring in the real estate field. The DRE grants licenses to Real Estate Brokers and Salespersons.

Is the California real estate law administered by the California?

California's real estate license law is administered by the Department of Real Estate, under the supervision of the Real Estate Commissioner. The state agency that administers the Real Estate Law.

Who is head of California Department of Real Estate?

Doug McCauley - Commissioner

Doug McCauley - Commissioner - California Department of Real Estate - California Department of Real Estate | LinkedIn.

Who oversees regulates administers and enforces the real estate law? The Department of Real Estate (DRE) not only administers and enforces the laws governing the sale of subdivided lots and common interest developments, including condominiums and planned developments, it also administers and enforces laws governing the sale of time-share interests.

Do you own the land when you buy a house in California?

Unless stated otherwise on the property's deed, individuals in California own property in what is referred to as “fee simple.” This grants the owner full rights over the property, including the land itself and related privileges such as water rights, the right to extract oil, gas, and minerals, airspace usage over the

What is proof of ownership of a house in California?

Proof of Ownership

You only need to provide one of the documents listed below. Deed or Official Record. Mortgage documentation. Homeowners insurance documentation. Property tax receipt or bill.

What happens on closing day for buyer California?

Usually two, three days before we close the parties sign their closing documents. Then when it comes to closing the actual escrow, in California it's the title company that records the deed. When they record that deed, the ownership transfers to the buyer and that's the actual closing date.

What are the property rights in California?

Though government may place limitations on what you may do with a property, it must always allow you to develop your property in some manner. Otherwise government must pay you for the value of your land. Furthermore, the California Constitution protects your right to acquire, use and protect your property.

Do I own the land around my house?

You probably own the land

Generally speaking, it's likely that you own the property underneath and around your house. Most property ownership law is based on the Latin doctrine, “For whoever owns the soil, it is theirs up to heaven and down to hell.”

  • What is the difference between a complete and limited appraisal?
    • Complete appraisal — the act or process of estimating value or an estimate of value performed without invoking the Departure Provision. Limited appraisal — the act or process of estimating value or an estimate of value performed under and resulting from invoking the Departure Provision.

  • What is the oldest appraisal method in real estate?
    • The Sales Comparison Appraisal Method

      The first appraisal method used to assess property value is the sales comparison method.

  • What is a limiting condition in an appraisal?
    • A limiting condition is a special condition that limits the use of an appraisal, primarily by specifying the intended use and intended users of the results and appraisal report.

  • Can an appraiser accept an assignment if they don t have competency to complete the assignment?
    • If the appraiser concludes they do not possess the competency to complete an assignment, they can acquire the skills and experience needed. If the appraiser has neither the competency to complete an assignment nor the means to acquire that competency, they must decline the appraisal assignment.

  • How hard is real estate license in NC?
    • The passing rate for the North Carolina Real Estate Provisional Broker Exam is 71%. This test is purposefully difficult, but not impossible. Be sure to pay attention during your pre-license course and take studying seriously.

  • What percentage of people pass the NC real estate exam the first time?
    • North Carolina Real Estate Exam Prep

      The state section especially is known for being tricky. In fact, according to NCREC, fewer than 40% of applicants who take the state section of the exam without taking a pre-licensing course (because they are licensed in another state) pass the test. What's the best way to prepare?

  • How many times can you fail the NC real estate exam?
    • How many times can I take the exam in my 180-day eligibility? Applicants are not allowed to retake the license exam for at least 10 calendar days following a failed or missed exam. Other than that waiting period, there is no limit to the number of attempts during the 180-day eligibility period.

  • What is the hardest part of real estate?
    • Here are some of the toughest struggles that every realtor has to deal with on a daily basis.
      1. Uncertainty about real estate market.
      2. Constantly being on the go.
      3. Commission is by no means a guarantee.
      4. Being underpaid for hard work.
      5. Dealing with difficult clients.
  • Is it worth being a realtor in NC?
    • While income can vary depending on location, experience, and level of success, the real estate industry offers a significant earning potential. Successful agents can earn a six-figure income, and top performers can earn even more. Before becoming a real estate agent, I'll admit that I was scared!

  • How do I search by parcel number in Polk County property?
    • If you wish to search by Parcel ID or Site Address, please click the appropriate search link under Real Estate Property Records on the right side of the page. Once you have entered information, click Search Records. NOTICE: You are currently logged into the Polk County Property Appraiser's Online Filing Application.

  • At what age do seniors stop paying property taxes in Florida?
    • 65 years of age

      You are 65 years of age, or older, on January 1; You qualify for, and receive, the Florida Homestead Exemption; Your total 'Household Adjusted Gross Income' for everyone who lives on the property cannot exceed statutory limits.

  • How do I know if my homestead exemption was approved in Polk County Florida?
    • You will receive an email when your exemption application is either approved or denied. You may also check the status of your exemption at the Property Appraiser's website ( by searching for the property and viewing the exemptions section of the parcel detail page.

  • How do I find my property parcel number Texas?
    • Parcel numbers & tax bill #'s can be located at the top right hand corner of your tax statement. If searching by Real Estate parcel number, do not include dots, dashes or spaces, only numbers. If the parcel ends in 00 disregard the last two digits.

  • How do I find my parcel number in Florida?
    • You can find your ID number on your property tax notices (usually on the top left of your tax notice). However, if you are unable to see it, refer to our map search and either: (i) search your address or, (ii) enter the homeowner's name. The ID number will then be displayed for you! Easy.

  • Who regulates appraisers in Washington state?
    • Professional Licenses | Washington State Department of Licensing.

  • What is the RCW 18.140 010?
    • A state-certified residential real estate appraiser may designate or identify an appraisal rendered by him or her as a "certified appraisal."
  • What is required to be a home appraiser in Washington state?
    • Washington Appraisal: Certified General

      Experience: 3,000 hours of acceptable appraisal experience in no less than 30 months. A minimum of 1,500 hours of the required experience must be in non-residential appraisal work. College Education: Must have a Bachelor's degree or higher.

  • Which act requires that a licensed or certified appraiser perform any appraisal used in connection with a federally related transaction of $250000 and above?
    • Title XI of the Financial Institutions Reform, Recovery, and Enforcement Act of 1989 (Title XI) requires the Agencies to adopt regulations prescribing standards for appraisals used in connection with federally related transactions within the jurisdiction of each agency, and that they be performed by certified or

  • Who is responsible for issuing credentials to appraisers?
    • Real Property Appraiser Qualification Criteria (Criteria): Established by the Appraiser Qualifications Board (AQB) of The Appraisal Foundation, these Criteria set forth the minimum education, experience and examination requirements for real property appraisers.

  • What do sellers have to disclose in Ohio?
    • Ohio Law on Residential Property Disclosures

      It mandates filling out a Residential Property Disclosure Form, which is meant to alert prospective home buyers to known problems with the property: roof leaks, electrical troubles, malfunctioning appliances, pests, and so on.

  • What is an example of a disclosure?
    • A disclosure statement in such a case might read: “The author declares that (s)he has no relevant or material financial interests that relate to the research described in this paper”.

  • Can you sue a home seller for undisclosed defects in Ohio?
    • If it can be proven that the owner knew about a problem and failed to disclose it on the required form, you might be able to hold them responsible for paying for the repair. If the seller and/or their realtor intentionally defrauded you, you can seek damages amounting to double the cost of repairs.

  • Which of the following establishes minimum criteria for real property appraiser certification?
    • The Appraiser Qualifications Board (AQB) establishes minimum qualifications, known as the Real Property Appraiser Qualification Criteria. Additionally, the AQB has established voluntary Personal Property Appraiser Qualification Criteria.

  • What is the minimum length for an appraisal course to be acceptable toward qualifying education?
    • All applicants must successfully complete a 15-hour National Uniform Standards of Professional Appraisal Practice (USPAP) course or its equivalent as determined by the AQB.

  • What are the requirements to be a real estate appraiser in California?
    • To become a real estate appraiser, there are 9 steps you must meet:
      • 18+ Years Old.
      • Complete 150 Hours of Coursework.
      • Apply For Initial Appraisal License.
      • Pass a Background Check.
      • Pass State Exam.
      • Work 2,000 Hours as a Real Estate Appraiser Trainee.
      • Get Approved.
      • Apply for a Residential Real Estate Appraiser License.
  • What entity is responsible for establishing minimum licensing qualifications for appraisers?
    • The Foundation's Appraiser Qualifications Board (AQB) sets the minimum Real Property Appraiser Qualification Criteria and the Appraisal Standards Board (ASB) develops the generally accepted standards of practice for the appraisal profession (the Uniform Standards of Professional Appraisal Practice).

  • What happens if appraisal is lower than offer?
    • If your appraised value is lower than the agreed upon sales price, you'll have to make up the difference in cash, or cancel the deal. There's no reason to panic if your appraisal comes in lower than you expect it to, though.

  • What negatively affects home appraisal?
    • Structural And Other Construction Materials

      This includes things like asbestos tile and insulation and lead paint. Even if the materials are safe, if they haven't been updated, your home may not be as energy-efficient, which could also affect value. This is especially true for old windows and doors.

  • What does an appraiser do?
    • A real estate appraiser provides an objective and unbiased estimate or appraisal of the value of a property. Appraisals are prepared for lease negotiations, mortgage lending purposes, tax assessments, and more. Appraisers inspect the property's features and compare it to similar properties to determine its value.

  • What do you mean by appraisal?
    • the act of examining someone or something in order to judge their qualities, success, or needs: The newspaper gave an editorial appraisal of the government's achievements of the past year. Synonyms. assessment. estimation (OPINION)

  • Do appraisals usually come in at asking price?
    • Most appraisals come in at the right price. According to CoreLogic, in general, appraisals come in below contract only about 7-9% of the time. That average was skewed when the appraisal gap reached its peak at 20% in April 2022 but has been leveling out ever since.

  • What is the disadvantages of a leased land?
    • With a leased-land property, you risk losing all of your equity at lease expiration, depending on the terms of the surrender clause. The resale of the home is likely to be more difficult than the resale of a traditional home, especially because with each passing year, the remaining term on the lease shortens.

  • Does landlord have to pay for hotel during repairs in California?
    • California law stipulates that landlords are required to pay for a hotel room or similar accommodation for their tenants when the rental property becomes uninhabitable due to issues not caused by the tenant.

  • Do I need a license to rent my house in California?
    • No, there are no licensing requirements for landlords in California. How Much Tax Do You Pay On Rental Income In California? You will pay both the state and federal income tax rates on rental income in California.

  • Does a landlord have to pay a tenant to move out in California?
    • Codified at California Civil Code Section 1946.2, the Act, among other things, requires landlords of residential rental property to pay a relocation payment to covered tenants upon eviction for no-fault just cause, as defined in the Act.

Leave A Comment

Fields (*) Mark are Required