• Home |
  • I rent a house and storage shed storage shed collapsed on my stuff who pays for it

I rent a house and storage shed storage shed collapsed on my stuff who pays for it

how much do real estate agentsmake

I rented a storage shed. Rent to own. It was on my moms property. She has dementia and she gave the shed away to c. Expert's Assistant chat img.

What are my rights if my landlord decides to sell in California?

No. California tenants are not required to move simply because the landlord places their building on the market or closes on a sale. Their tenant rights remain the same. Nothing changes by virtue of the landlord placing the building on the market or closing on a building sale.

What are my rights if my landlord decides to sell in NJ?

When an owner sells the property directly to someone else, the new owner takes the property subject to the current lease terms. Remember, if your lease expired years ago, those same terms carry over on a month-to-month basis. The new owner may, after a lease term ends, propose a new lease or rent increase.

What rights do tenants have when landlord sells property NYC?

If you sell your property, your tenant still has the right to live in the house under the original lease terms. The tenant should receive waivers or complimentary amenities as in the actual lease terms even after a new landlord takes over. This should happen until the lease term ends.

Can my landlord sell the house I'm renting Georgia?

The short answer is yes, you can sell a rental property with tenants in Georgia. However, it's important to note that there are specific laws and regulations in place to protect the rights of your tenants during the sale process.

How much notice do you need to give a tenant when selling in California?

120 days

If you're selling rental property with tenants, you're obligated to provide them with ample warning of your intent. In California, this means you must provide your renters with written notice of your decision to sell the property at least 120 days—or roughly 4 months—before you can begin showing the place.

What is the new renters law in California 2023?

Rent Control Laws

According to the AB-1482 from the California Tenant Protection Act), any rent increase is capped at 5% plus inflation or 10% of the lowest price paid in the last 12 months. These laws started in January 2020, and it's expected to last until January 2030. You can read more about this measure here.

Frequently Asked Questions

How much notice does a landlord have to give a tenant to move out in California?

A landlord can use a 30 day-notice to end a month-to-month tenancy if the tenant has been renting for less than a year. A landlord should use a 60-day notice if the tenant has been renting for more than one year and the landlord wants the tenant to move out. (CCP Section 1946.1.)

When a tenant acquires a leasehold estate through a lease?

When a tenant acquires a leasehold estate through a lease, what does the property owner acquire? occupy the property. What happens when a leased property is sold? the buyer acquires title subject to the lease.

What happens to a lease when a property is sold in Texas?

In Texas, a lease between a landlord and tenant survives a sale when the landlord sells the home to a new owner unless the lease explicitly states otherwise in writing. This means that if your landlord sells the house you're living in, the new owner is assuming the current lease.

What are the disadvantages of buying leasehold property?

What are the disadvantages of a leasehold property?
  • You pay service charges and ground rent to the freeholder, which can increase.
  • You need written permission from the freeholder to change the property, and there may be large fees involved.
  • You may not be allowed pets.
  • You might not be able to run a business from home.

What is considered normal wear and tear on a rental property in MN?

Normal wear and tear.

It's just part of occupying a space. This type of damage can include marks on the wall, broken blinds, worn or stained carpet, nail holes and scratched floors, all of which can be paid for with the tenant's security deposit.

FAQ

What falls under ordinary wear and tear?

Normal wear and tear generally refers to the expected deterioration of a unit caused by a tenant's everyday use. This could include things like wobbly doorknobs, worn carpet, or small scratches on walls and flooring.

Can my landlord make me pay for carpet cleaning in MN?
A landlord CANNOT require a tenant to pay for carpet cleaning in advance of moving. Any payments in excess of rent are considered security deposits ATCP 134.02(11). Withholding that money would be considered a withholding from a security deposit, which is illegal absent "unusual damage".

How much notice does a landlord have to give a tenant to move out in MN?

2. Timeline

Lease Agreement / Type of TenancyNotice to Receive
Week-to-week7-Day Notice to Quit
Month-to-month30-Day Notice to Quit
Other tenanciesDuration between rental payments or 3 months, whichever is shorter
Jul 31, 2023

What happens to a lease when a property is sold in Florida?

Remember, Florida Landlord Tenant Law does not cancel your lease agreement upon the sale of your property and the new owner is bound to fulfill this lease agreement unless your lease states otherwise.

I rent a house and storage shed storage shed collapsed on my stuff who pays for it

What a landlord Cannot do in North Carolina?

The North Carolina Office of Administrative Hearings and the Fair Housing Act prohibit landlords from discriminating against potential tenants because of their race, religion, familial status, sex, gender, etc.

What a landlord Cannot do in Tennessee?

You cannot be evicted without notice. The landlord cannot change the locks or shut off your utilities to make you leave. Most of the time, a landlord needs to go to court before evicting you.

Are lease takeovers a good idea?

Assuming someone else's lease can be a good option for drivers wanting to get behind the wheel of a newer car without a two-year or three-year commitment to a typical car lease. In many instances, taking over a lease to satisfy short-term transportation needs is more cost-effective than a long-term car rental.

What is the Civil Code 1954 violation?

Civil Code section 1954 goes on to provide that: Landlord may only enter during normal business hours, unless tenant consents otherwise or is present during the entry, there is an emergency, or tenant has surrendered the premises. Landlord must give reasonable notice of their intent to enter.

  • How do you deal with a manipulative tenant?
    • Landlord's Guide to Handling Bad Tenants: Tips & Strategies for Success
      1. 2.1. Screen Your Tenants Carefully.
      2. 2.2. Communicate Clearly and Regularly.
      3. 2.3. Set Clear Boundaries.
      4. 2.4. Document Everything.
      5. 2.5. Take Action Quickly.
      6. 2.6. Seek Legal Advice.
      7. 2.7. Consider Mediation.
      8. 2.8. Be Prepared for the Worst.
  • How do I protect myself from bad tenants?
    • How to protect yourself from bad tenants
      1. Require potential tenants to fill out an application and provide sufficient identification. Think of your rental unit as an opportunity for which renters should have proper qualifications.
      2. Perform criminal background and credit checks.
      3. Check references.
  • What is considered landlord harassment in New York State?
    • Under New York's rent-regulation laws, harassment is defined as conduct by a landlord that directly or indirectly interferes with, or is intended to interfere with, your privacy, comfort, and enjoyment of your dwelling.

  • What is the Ellis Act Civil Code?
    • The Ellis Act is a provision in California Law (Government Code section 7060-7060.7) that provides landlords in California with a legal way to go out of the rental market business. The Ellis Act was adopted by the California Legislature in 1985 after the California Supreme Court decision in the case of Nash v.

Leave A Comment

Fields (*) Mark are Required