Keep in mind that a tenant with a fixed term or self-extending annual lease will have different rights than a tenant under a tenancy-at-will. As a starting point, when selling a rental property in Massachusetts, the landlord should provide notice to the tenant of their intention to sell.
What rights do tenants have when the house is being sold Massachusetts?
The mere sale of property, on its own, will not require any existing tenants to vacate the property. All landlords need to exercise extreme care with Massachusetts' security deposit law. This law regulates the acceptance, holding, and return of a security deposit, and comes with severe penalties if violated.
How much notice does a landlord have to give a tenant to move out in MA?
If the tenant pays all monies due, plus costs, interest and your court filing fees by the date their Answer is due in court, the tenant has an absolute right to stop the eviction. If you are evicting for a reason other than nonpayment, or for no reason, you must give the tenant a 30 day Notice to Quit.
How much notice does a landlord have to give if not renewing lease in Massachusetts?
Depending on the reason for eviction, a landlord must provide the tenant either a 14-Day or 30-day Notice to Quit.
What is the most a landlord can raise your rent in Massachusetts?
Rent Increases: There is no legal limit to the amount of rent a landlord can charge. However, in order for the rent increase to be valid, the landlord must provide the tenant proper notice of the raise in rent and the tenant must agree to it (signs the lease with the new monthly rent).
What are my rights if my landlord decides to sell in California?
No. California tenants are not required to move simply because the landlord places their building on the market or closes on a sale. Their tenant rights remain the same. Nothing changes by virtue of the landlord placing the building on the market or closing on a building sale.