how much do real estate agentsmake

Obtaining a real estate license in North Carolina opens up a world of opportunities for individuals looking to pursue a career in the dynamic and rewarding field of real estate. If you are contemplating becoming a licensed real estate agent in North Carolina, it is important to understand the process, requirements, and time commitment involved. In this comprehensive review, we will delve into the various stages involved in obtaining a real estate license in North Carolina, providing you with expert, informative, and easy-to-understand insights.

Overview of the Licensing Process: The path to becoming a licensed real estate agent in North Carolina involves several steps, including pre-licensing education, passing the state exam, and applying for a license. Let's explore each stage in detail.

  1. Pre-Licensing Education: One of the initial requirements to obtain a real estate license in North Carolina is completing a state-approved pre-licensing education course. The North Carolina Real Estate Commission (NCREC) mandates aspiring agents to complete 75 hours of pre-licensing education. This comprehensive course covers various aspects of real estate, including real estate principles, contracts, finance, brokerage relationships, property management, and more.

The duration to

The passing rate for the North Carolina Real Estate Provisional Broker Exam is 71%. This test is purposefully difficult, but not impossible. Be sure to pay attention during your pre-license course and take studying seriously.

How much does it cost to get a real estate license in North Carolina?

​To become a real estate agent in North Carolina, you should expect to invest about $520. That includes the mandatory pre-licensing course, your background check, the application fee, and the State examination.

How long is the real estate course in NC?

The 75-hour course requirement is offered by a number of private real estate schools, as well as community colleges throughout the state. Each school has a different schedule, but Superior School offers more times and locations than any school in the state.

How much does the average realtor make in NC?

The average realtor salary in North Carolina is $87,500 per year or $42.07 per hour. Entry level positions start at $80,000 per year while most experienced workers make up to $122,500 per year.

Is it worth being a realtor in NC?

While income can vary depending on location, experience, and level of success, the real estate industry offers a significant earning potential. Successful agents can earn a six-figure income, and top performers can earn even more. Before becoming a real estate agent, I'll admit that I was scared!

How long do you have to rent for?

The landlord must allow you to stay in the property for a minimum of 6 months. Most landlords offer tenancies for a fixed term of 6 or 12 months. However, it is possible to negotiate a longer tenancy, or you could agree to a tenancy which rolls over on a weekly or monthly basis.

What is the hardest month to rent an apartment?

Worst for Prices: May through September It all goes back to the law of supply and demand—because more people are looking to rent an apartment and move during the summer, the prices are higher. You are much less likely to find a deal on rent between May and September.

Frequently Asked Questions

Is 30 of rent outdated?

The 30 percent rule was great at the time, but it's outdated for today's living expenses. Back then, there weren't high levels of student debt or worries about how to save for retirement. There are also more expensive rental markets out there now. Today's rule of thumb for rent should take these into account.

How much does it cost to get a NC real estate license?

​To become a real estate agent in North Carolina, you should expect to invest about $520. That includes the mandatory pre-licensing course, your background check, the application fee, and the State examination.

How much math is on the NC real estate exam?

How to Prepare for Math on the Real Estate Exam. While details vary by state, you can generally expect to encounter between 150 and 200 multiple choice questions on the real estate exam. Of those, roughly 10-15% involve math, which translates to between 15 and 30 questions per exam.

Can you take the NC real estate exam without going to school?

North Carolina Real Estate License Education Requirements You must complete a 75-hour broker prelicensing course in order to qualify to take the North Carolina state real estate broker licensing exam.

How often do you have to renew NC real estate license?

June 30th each year North Carolina requires you to renew your real estate license every year. North Carolina real estate licenses expire on June 30th each year, so it is important that you complete the renewal process before this date. You can begin the renewal process as early as May 15th.


How do I renew my NC real estate license?
How do I renew?
  1. Go the Commission's homepage,
  2. Click on Renew My Broker License.
  3. Enter your license number and PIN (password).
  4. Verify your contact information, and update information if needed.
  5. Provide the “Employee Misclassification” disclosure and certification.
How much does it cost to renew your real estate license in NC?
$45 How much does it cost to renew real estate license in North Carolina? The fee for renewal is $45 and is required on an annual basis. This fee is due prior to the expiration of your current license on June 30 of each year.
How long can a NC real estate license stay inactive?
How long may I remain on Inactive status? As long as you pay your renewal fee on time every year, your license can remain on Inactive status indefinitely. How do I get a license history or certificate of licensure from the NC Real Estate Commission?
How long do most people rent?
So, how long does a Tenant stay? A quick google search will tell you that for a single-family rental in the United States, you should expect an average tenancy to last about 3 years. And a multi-family/apartment should stay occupied for roughly 2.5 years.
How long should it take to save for an apartment?
How long it takes you to save up money for your apartment depends on your monthly income and pre-existing expenses. If you're a high earner in good financial standing with a high gross income, it may only take a few months to save enough.

How long does it take to get your real estate license in north carolina

Is $1,500 rent too much? Take rent for example. The traditional advice is simple: Spend no more than 30% of your before-tax income on housing costs. That means if you bring in $5,000 per month before taxes, your rent shouldn't exceed $1,500.
How long should I save for an apartment? Based on the above categories, you should save an amount equal to at least 3-4 months' rent. That will cover paying rent for the first month, security deposits and last month's rent.
How long do you live in an apartment? The most common terms for a short-term lease are six months or three months. This lease length is ideal if you're working or studying in a new area for a short period of time. For those looking for a longer-term approach, some apartments also offer 18-month leases or even two-year leases.
What are the worst months to rent an apartment? The High-Demand Summer Months Summer months (June-August) are often considered the worst months to rent an apartment, primarily due to the high demand, increased competition, and higher final rental prices.
How much does it cost to renew NC real estate license? $45 North Carolina Real Estate Renewal Cost
StatusProvisional Broker LicenseFull Broker License
Renewal Cost Online$45$45
Reinstatement Fee$90$90
Total Cost$45 – $135$45 – $135
Aug 23, 2023
  • How many times can you take the NC real estate exam?
    • How many times can I take the exam in my 180-day eligibility? Applicants are not allowed to retake the license exam for at least 10 calendar days following a failed or missed exam. Other than that waiting period, there is no limit to the number of attempts during the 180-day eligibility period.
  • What is the longest period you can rent an apartment in New York?
    • While some landlords do allow two year terms, or at least an “option” for a second year, many landlords do not allow anything more than a 12 month term. And few – if any – landlords allow lease terms of three or more years. For more NYC rental tips, please go to
  • What is the shortest time you can rent a property?
    • Six months A short-term rental is defined as being less than six months, but many landlords are now making arrangements regularly for as little as one week.
  • How long is long term lease?
    • 12 months A long-term lease typically has a tenancy period of 12 months, which can be renewed if both the landlord and tenant are happy to do so. While contracts may vary, some long-term lets have rolling agreements with tenants staying in the property for several years.
  • How long rent apartment
    • Jan 16, 2015 — Most leases are for one year. If its a good deal for both parties then it will extend for some period, usually about 2 or 3 years. After that tenants change and 

Leave A Comment

Fields (*) Mark are Required